This is the "Revolutionary War" page of the "Revolutionary War" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Revolutionary War  

For Mr. Hostetler's 7th grade History class projects on Revolutionary era events
Last Updated: Mar 1, 2017 URL: http://gcms.grovecity.libguides.com/revwar Print Guide RSS Updates

Revolutionary War Print Page
  Search: 
 

Glogster

If this project is going to be a glog, then Glogster EDU is the site where you will create your glog.  Login information will be given in class.

Please do not start your glog until your teacher gives you the OK.

Remember, you can work on your glog at home or at school.  Just remember to CITE all sources in Noodletools.

 

One Drive - access your work at home!

If you sign-in to Office 365, you can use One Drive to save your work and access it at home or anywhere!  Here are the instructions!

 

Destiny Search

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search
 

World Book Encyclopedia Online

WORLD BOOK TIPS:

Don't forget to check the left side column for Encyclopedia Article, Sounds, Videos, SPECIAL REPORTS, and WEBSITES.  These are highly recommended websites, use them!

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
American Revolution Almanac
Call Number: REF 973.3 SCH
ISBN: 0787637955

Cover Art
Facts about the American Wars - John S. Bowman (Editor)
Call Number: REF 973 BOW
ISBN: 082420929X
GREAT FACTS!

Cover Art
Dictionary of American History - Stanley I. Kutler
Call Number: REF 973.03 DIC
ISBN: 0684805332
The complete encyclopedia of all things American History. Look up battles or events. Use index to look up people.

POWER LIBRARY Database Resources

For this animal research project , Mrs. Scott recommends SIRS Discoverer (a part of Power Library) as a great database resource. Remember ... DATABASES are better than websites for research because the information is reviewed and checked.  It has been published in print form somewhere.

 

BlankTimeline

Click below to Open the Blank Timeline WORD DOCUMENT.  Make sure you save it in your own Student Drive (U Drive). And, later after you learn how -- you can save it to ONE DRIVE.

 

Facts on File American History (FIRST SOURCE TO USE!)

Search your topic, you can narrow then by clicking on tabs for Images or Maps, or articles with great information!

Revolutionary War Websites

SEARCH TIP:


In Google box below, search the name of the specific event.  Do not type a question!  Use quotes for phrases.

Example:  "Battle of Brandywine"

Remember to evaluate your source!

Mr. Hostetler Recommends these websites:

Google Web Search

HELP with your bibliography

  • NOODLETOOLS
    We have a school subscription to Noodletools so this is how you will create your bibliography! Remember, you login to Noodletools just as you log into computers at school [username = lastfirst; password = ID]

SOURCES OF IMAGES

Remember:  You cannot list google, or wikimedia or any other search tool as the SOURCE for an image.  You need to find the original website, and provide painter or artist if it is available anywhere!

TIP!!!  Use Facts on File American History (Search box) and search MAJOR BATTLES REVOLUTION to get a great map showing all the battles.

  • Wikimedia Commons
    Awesome source for images because it provides detailed information about painter/photographer/artist and where the image is found. Also provides copyright and creative commons info.
  • Compfight
    Image search engine that uses flickr images, allows for searching by Creative Commons license.
  • Google Advanced Image Search
    Make sure you set the "Usage Rights" (middle of the page) to "Only images labeled for reuse" and use "safe search" at school.
  • Pics4Learning
    A safe, free image library for education (teachers & students)
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip