This is the "Home" page of the "Colonial America Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Colonial America Resources   Tags: colonial america, research projects, social studies, u.s. history  

A research guide for seventh grade social studies.
Last Updated: Nov 3, 2016 URL: http://gcms.grovecity.libguides.com/colonial Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search DESTINY for a book

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

 

Check Destiny to see what books are available at the GCMS Library to help your research.

Look for the new E-books too! Click here

 

Reference Books

A REFERENCE could be a print encyclopedia (general or subject specific), atlas, dictionary, or almanac, or a digital source like a database. Here you will learn the basics of your topic, fast facts and vocabulary words that you can use later as search terms.

Good REFERENCE books to try: World Book Encyclopedia, Compton's Encyclopedia, New Book of Knowledge.

Cover Art
Dictionary of American History - Stanley I. Kutler
Call Number: REF 973.03 DIC
ISBN: 0684805332
Publication Date: 2002-12-11
This ten volume set is the "go-to" place for anything and everything about U.S. History - from the discovery period through modern history. Use the separate index volume if you are not sure what to look up.

Approved Websites

Need to do a web search?
1) USE GOOGLE

2) Start search with "Colonial America" --in quotes just like this.

3) Add one or two terms to your search, such as roads, horn book, etc...

Keep modifying your search terms till you get what you want. DO NOT TYPE A QUESTION!

 

Or, Try one of these awesome websites.

 

Dates & Other Info for this Project

  • Mr. Hostetler's Classes in LMC and or D106 Learning Lab: 

          Nov. 7 through 11 (no school 11/8); and Nov. 14-16

   DUE DATES:   

            Source Cards Due Friday Nov. 11

            Word Processed Bibliography due Friday Nov. 18

            Rough Draft 5 paragraph essay due Friday Nov. 18

            Word Processed Paper Due to Mr. Hostetler - Wed. Nov. 23

            Project Due Wed. Nov. 30

            Project Presentations in class Wed. Nov. 30 - Friday Dec. 2.

 

The Research Process

Remember, when you are conducting research, the two most important questions to ask are:

WHAT'S MY QUESTION?  HOW MUCH DO I KNOW?

Depending on your question and how much you know about your topic will determine which resource is the best one for you to use.

If you know 0-25% of your topic, choose a REFERENCE source.

If you know 25-50% of your topic, choose a BOOK.

If you know 50-75% of your topic, choose a DATABASE from the approved list on this page.

If you know 75-100% of your topic, choose a SEARCH ENGINE like GOOGLE on the INTERNET. Use the SEARCH terms and phrases from your DATABASE searches in your GOOGLE search. Use what you know about your topic already to weed out useless or wrong information. But first, check the approved websites on this page.

DATABASES are Outstanding Sources

DATABASES are organized, searchable sources of information, often available only with a subscription (which means you will need passwords). Beyond that, a database can be anything: images, videos, articles from magazines or videos, or collections of print encyclopedia information. Even though you access them through the INTERNET, DATABASES have more specific information than what you will find just GOOGLING your topic. Information found in databases has been verified and is more trustworthy than information generally found on the web. Here you will find more current information on your topic using the vocabulary words your learned from your REFERENCE and BOOK sources as your SEARCH terms.

  • Power Library From Home
    Use SIRS in Power Library for this project. You'll need your Community Library ID card number to access it from home.

NOODLETOOLS for your Bibliography

  • NOODLETOOLS
    We have a school subscription to Noodletools so this is how you will create your bibliography! Remember, you login to Noodletools just as you log into computers at school [username = lastfirst; password = ID]
    REMEMBER: Click on Create a New Project, then name it. All sources for this research paper are cited in this new Project.
  • Noodletools Help
    Click on this if you need more help using Noodletools.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip