This is the "Author Research" page of the "Author Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Author Research   Tags: authors, biography, literature, research  

A guide for 8th grade English author research project
Last Updated: Mar 16, 2017 URL: http://gcms.grovecity.libguides.com/authors Print Guide RSS Updates

Author Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Destiny Search

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

What about Websites for Author Research?

Of course you are going to google your author....notice, I said GOOGLE, not Bing!  Just pay attention to who produced or sponsored the site?  Is it the author's personal site (does that mean the publisher pays for it)?  Is it an Internet "reference" site like A & E Biographies (that may be more objective)? Evaluate the site for authority, bias, accuracy, and so on before using it!

      

    Research In Context

    We have a trial subscription to the new database called Resarch in Context.  Click on the link below, Click on Research in Context.

    Username: 362506

    Password: pass

    Your search will be sorted into Reference books, Magazine Articles, Biography, and sometimes video, etc.

    HELP with your bibliography

    • NOODLETOOLS
      We have a school subscription to Noodletools so this is how you will create your bibliography! Remember, you login to Noodletools just as you log into computers at school [username = lastfirst; password = ID]
    • NOODLETOOLS HELP
      Click here for a reminder about how to CREATE A PROJECT or HOW TO PRINT a bibliography.
    • Source Card Blanks
     

    Survey

    Vote for your favorite YA Author:











    DATABASE RESOURCES

    Use CONTEMPORARY AUTHORS (listed on the Destiny Home page under DATABASES).  Simply enter author's name, do not make any selections in the Filter boxes. If you access this from home, it may look a bit different, and it may ask you for a password - use the one provided by your librarian.

    This is an AWESOME RESOURCE, but, here is a tip:  If you use the Authors & Artists for Young Adults volumes from the Reference Section, this article will be exactly the same (it will not count as a second source).

    EBSCO for Magazine articles and More!

    Use ESBSO (in POWER LIBRARY) to find a great magazine article about your author.  Remember to Check the FULL TEXT Box, and then you will probably want to limit your results to MAGAZINES.  Don't bother with articles less than 1/2 page long, don't use book reviews for this source, but... Interviews are GREAT!

    • Power Library from School
      If you are using Power Library AT SCHOOL use this link.
      Click on blue box: Reference.
      Then click on EBSCO. Then click on Ebsco Host Web.
      In the next screen (Choose Databases) pick Master File Main Edition and Middle Search Main Edition. Then, you are finally on the search screen!
    • Power Library from HOME
      To use Power Library from home, you will need your Grove City Community Library ID number. It is the number on your library card. You can call the library and they will give it to you over the phone.
    • Help With Ebsco
      Short "tutorial" for using Ebsco.
     

    Reference Books

    Cover Art
    Authors and Artists for Young Adults - Gale Research Staff
    ISBN: 078763235X
    Publication Date: 2000-08-11
    GCMS LMC has volumes 1 - 35. Use the comprehensive index in Vol. 35 to find your author.

    Cover Art
    Tenth Book of Junior Authors and Illustrators - Connie C. Rockman
    Call Number: REF 920.03
    ISBN: 0824210433
    Publication Date: 2008-11-01
    Wilson's Junior Book of Author Series is an excellent resource. Use the comprehensive index in the back of the 10th book to see in which book you will find your author.

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of World Biography
    Call Number: REF 920.02 McG
    ISBN: 0787652830
    This is good for "classic" authors.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip