This is the "Animals" page of the "Animals" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Animals   Tags: animals, biology, research projects, science  

Guide for animal research projects
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2015 URL: http://gcms.grovecity.libguides.com/animals Print Guide RSS Updates

Animals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Destiny Search

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search
 

World Book Encyclopedia Online

WORLD BOOK TIPS:

Don't forget to check the left side column for Encyclopedia Article, Sounds, Videos, SPECIAL REPORTS, and WEBSITES.  These are highly recommended websites, use them!

 

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of the Animal World
Call Number: REF 591 ENC
ISBN: 085835148
Publication Date: 1982
20 vols. alpahbetical order by animal. Use the index to find sub-species.

Book of Mammals - National Geographic
Call Number: REF 599 NAT
ISBN: 0870443798
Publication Date: 1981

Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Animal Kingdom
Call Number: REF 590 ILL
Publication Date: 1972
Not in alphabetical order. You must use the INDEX (Vol. 20)!

Macmillan Illus. Animal Encyclopedia - Whitfield
Call Number: REF 591 WHI
Publication Date: 1984
Single volume encyclopedia.

Glogster

Glogster EDU is the site where you will create your glog.  Login information will be given in class.

Please do not start your glog until your teacher gives you the OK.

Remember, you can work on your glog at home or at school.  Just remember to CITE all sources in Noodletools.

 

Important Dates

POWER LIBRARY Database Resources

For this animal research project , Mrs. Scott recommends SIRS Discoverer (a part of Power Library) as a great database resource. Remember ... DATABASES are better than websites for research because the information is reviewed and checked.  It has been published in print form somewhere.

Awesome Animal Websites

HELP with your bibliography

  • NOODLETOOLS
    We have a school subscription to Noodletools so this is how you will create your bibliography! Remember, you login to Noodletools just as you log into computers at school [username = lastfirst; password = ID]

Google Web Search

SOURCES OF IMAGES

  • Wikimedia Commons
    Awesome source for images because it provides detailed information about painter/photographer/artist and where the image is found. Also provides copyright and creative commons info.
  • Compfight
    Image search engine that uses flickr images, allows for searching by Creative Commons license.
  • Google Advanced Image Search
    Make sure you set the "Usage Rights" (middle of the page) to "Only images labeled for reuse" and use "safe search" at school.
  • Pics4Learning
    A safe, free image library for education (teachers & students)
  • ADW (U. Mich)
    Great for images because it gives photographer, creation date and fair use information.
 

News from the Pittsburgh ZOO

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip