This is the "Biography" page of the "6th grade Research Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

6th grade Research Project   Tags: bibliography, citations, english, research, research projects, teaching  

Last Updated: Feb 17, 2015 URL: http://gcms.grovecity.libguides.com/6th Print Guide RSS Updates

Biography Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Destiny Search

Remember, you must have at least ONE Book source.  In fact, you cannot pick a topic unless there is a BOOK available on that topic!

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

WORKS CITED (Bibliography) -- use Noodletools!

  • NOODLETOOLS
    We have a school subscription to Noodletools so this is how you will create your bibliography!
    Remember, you login to Noodletools just as you log into computers at school [username = lastfirst; password = ID]
  • Noodletools HELP
    Are you stuck? Do you need help using Noodletools? Click here!
 

World Book Encyclopedia Online

A reference book like World Book -- or even Wikipedia are great STARTING points.  You need to jot down key words about your topic to research later in other sources.

If your Topic relates to American History....

POWER LIBRARY DATABASE RESOURCES

For the 6th grade research project, Mrs. Scott recommends SIRS Discoverer (a part of Power Library) as a great database resource.

Websites to use if your topic is Biography

 

Other Good Reference Book

There are many great books in the REFERENCE SECTION.  Reference books are good to use for research because they condense the most important pieces of information about your topic into short articles.  Here are just a FEW of the good ones:

REF 306.03   Encyclopedia of World Cultures   

REF 305.4    Woman's Almanac

REF 503       New Encyclopedia of Science

REF 920       Profiles in American History

REF 940.53    World War II Almanac

REF 970.004  Encyc. Native American Culture

REF 973.2     Dictionary of American History

And there are TONS more, just ask Mrs. Scott for advice.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip